▼Previous page

By William May
(Japan Amateur Wrestling Federation, Public Information Committee:wmay52@hotmail.com


TOKYO (April 29) – Olympic bronze medalist Kenichi Yumoto won the 60kg crown in men's freestyle and will be headed to this year's world championships with twin brother, Shinichi, following the first day of action at the Meiji Cup national invitational wrestling championships.

Yumoto won his first invitational crown in six years and will be on the Japanese world team for the first time since winning a bronze medal at the Beijing Games in 2008.

Meanwhile, 55kg national champ Shinichi Yumoto lost in the opening round, but rebounded in the world team wrestle-off match to defeat world bronze medalist Yasuhiro Inaba and claim his spot on the team headed to Istanbul this fall.

The world championships in Istanbul (September 12-18) will also serve as the first qualification tournament for the 2012 Olympic Games. The top six finishers in each Olympic weight category will qualify their country for the London Games.

Also on the first day of competition, Takao Isokawa (96kg) and Nobuyoshi Arakida (120kg) followed up their All-Japan titles in December with the invitational crown to book their place Istanbul.

In greco-roman, Asian Games champion Kohei Hasegawa (55kg) and world silver medalist Ryutaro Matsumoto (60kg) won handily at their respective weights, while Katsuya Kitamura (96kg) earned a third straight shot at the world championships.

National champ Hirokazu Shinjo (120kg) fell to Waseda University freshman Shori Maekawa in the semifinals, but came back in the world team wrestle-offs to defeat the junior national champ for his third trip to the world championships.

At 66kg, former Takushoku University stand-out Yuji Okamoto added his first invitational title to his first All-Japan crown and will be making his first trip to the world championships.

In the women's events, Takako Saito won at 59kg to punch her ticket for Istanbul. But, Sara Dosho upset national champ Yoshiko Inoue at 67kg and Kika Shitochi won at 51kg with reigning national champ Yu Horiuchi on the sidelines, leaving world team selection in the hands of the women's national team committee.

Men's freestyle

55kg (11 entries)
F1 – Yasuhiro Inaba df. Tomohiro Matsunaga, 2-1 (1-4, 2x-2=last, 2x-2=last)
SF – Inaba df. Naoki Tomioka, 2-0 (1-0, 4-1)
SF – Matsunaga df. Yasuhiro Morita (2-0 (2-0=2:25, 6-1)
(Inaba wins 1st invitational title)

World team wrestle-off
Shinichi Yumoto df. Inaba, 2-0 (1-0=2:04, 6-0=0:35)
(Yumoto wins 2nd world team berth, 1st since 2009)

60kg (12 entries)
F1 – Kenichi Yumoto df. Tomotsugu Ishida, 2-0 (1-0=2:21, 5-0)
SF – Yumoto df. Takahiro Inoue, 2-0 (3-0, 2-0)
SF – Ishida df. Noriyuki Takatsuka, 2-1 (0-3, 1-0=2:01, 1-0)
(Yumoto wins 2nd invitational title, 1st in 6 years; 3rd world team berth, 1st since 2007)

96kg (8 entries)
F1 – Takao Isokawa df. Yasuhisa Irie, 2-0 (1-0, 4-0)
SF – Isokawa df. Takahiro Shimonaka, 2-0 (4-0=2:03, 1-0=2:06)
SF – Irie df. Kengo Kamei, 2-0 (1-0, 2-0)
(Isokawa wins 4th straight invitational, 3rd world team berth)

120kg (10 entries)
F1 – Nobuyoshi Arakida df. Yutaro Baba by fall, 1P=1:23 (F5-0)
SF – Arakida df. Kotaro Muraki by fall, 1P=1:51 (F5-0)
SF – Baba df. Yuto Aizawa, 2-0 (1-0, 1-0)
(Arakida wins 3rd invitational title, 1st in 2 years; 2nd world team berth, 1st since 2009)


55kg (11 entries)
F1 – Kohei Hasegawa df. Shota Tanokura, 2-0 (4-0, 1-0)
SF – Hasegawa df. Tsubasa Ogata, 2-0 (3-0, 1-0)
SF – Tanokura df. Masaharu Kaji, 2-1 (0-3, 1-0, 1-0)
(Hasegawa wins 4th straight invitational, 3rd straight world team berth)

60kg (9 entries)
F1 – Ryutaro Matsumoto df. Kazuma Kuramoto, 2-0 (1-0, 1-0)
SF – Matsumoto df. Takashi Sasaki, 2-0 (5-0=1:52, 7-1=1:49)
SF – Kuramoto df. Yasuyuki Tanioka, 2-1 (0-1, 2-0, 2-0)
(Matsumoto wins 3rd straight invitational, 2nd straight world team berth)

66kg (7 entries)
F1 – Yuji Okamoto df. Tomohiro Inoue, 2-0 (6-0=1:58, 1-0)
SF – Okamoto df. Shingo Shibata, 2-0 (6-0=1:22, 5-0)
SF – Inoue df. Hiroyuki Shimizu by fall, 3P=1:50 (0-2, 2-0, F5-1)
(Okamoto wins 1st invitational title, 1st world team berth)

96kg (12 entries)
F1 – Katsuya Kitamura df. Takahiro Mori, 2-0 (2-0, 3-0)
SF – Kitamura df. Yuji Yamamoto, 2-1 (0-1, 1-0, 1-0)
SF – Mori df. Takuma Arizono, 2-1 (4-0, 0-1, 2-0)
(Kitamura wins 3rd straight invitational title, 3rd world team berth in greco-roman. Kitamura also has invitational title, world team berth in freestyle)

120kg (7 entries)
F1 – Shori Maekawa df. Atsushi Nakamura, 2-0 (1-0, 1-0)
SF – Maekawa df. Hirokazu Shinjo, 2-1 (1-0, 0-1, 1-0)
SF – Nakamura df. Masahiro Tanida, 2-1 (1-0, 0-1, 1-0)
(Maekawa wins 1st invitational title)

World team wrestle-off
Shinjo df. Maekawa, 2-0 (1-0, 1-0)
(Shinjo wins 4th straight world team berth)

Women's freestyle
51kg (9 entries)
F1 – Kika Shitochi df. Nanami Irie, 2-0 (2-0, 1-0)
SF – Shitochi df. Risako Kawai, 2-0 (2-0, 1-0)
SF – Irie df. Yu Miyahara, 2-1 (0-1, 3-0=2:02, 3-0=2:03)
(Shitochi wins 1st invitational title)

59kg (11 entries)
F1 – Takako Saito df. Yurika Ito, 2-1 (0-1=2:04, 3-1, 5-4)
SF – Saito df. Ayaka Ito, 2-0 (2-1, 5-0)
SF – Ito df. Kayoko Shimada, 2-0 (2-0, 4-0)
(Saito wins 1st invitational title, 1st world team berth)

67kg (6 entries)
F1 – Sara Dosho df. Yoshiko Inoue, 2-1 (0-1,3-0=2:03, 3-0=2:05)
SF – Inoue df. Chiaki Iijima, 2-0 (1-0, 1-0)
SF – Dosho df. Yuka Masuo, 2-0 (2-0, 4-0)
(Dosho wins 1st invitational title)

▼Previous page
Page Top ▲

ホームページ テンプレート フリー

Design by